The Catawba Regional Council of Governments (CRCOG) is one of ten regional councils in South Carolina. Established in 1971, the Council serves Chester, Lancaster, Union, and York counties.

Catawba Regional is a Council of Governments since more than half of its 36-member governing body consists of local government elected officials primarily from city and county councils. All Board members are appointed either by the respective county councils in accordance with a membership formula or, by the county legislative delegations. The Council is comprised of a 22-person professional staff with varied backgrounds in planning, economic and community development, and finance.

In 1976, the Catawba Regional Council of Governments was designated an Economic Development District by the federal Economic Development Administration (EDA). Participation in this program has enabled local governments within the four counties to avail themselves of regional planning assistance for economic development as well as ensuring access to EDA’s grant assistance programs. These grant funds, combined with other local, state, and federal financial resources, have helped this region develop the necessary facilities and infrastructure upon which current growth relies.


Regional planning and assistance efforts do not happen in a vacuum. Effective and implementable economic development planning and assistance only takes place when major stakeholders related to the economic vitality of the region are convened in an effort to address existing needs and future requirements.

Catawba Regional is in the unique position to convene the stakeholders necessary to implement successful planning, funding, and development efforts. Through relationships built over the past 50 years within the region and across the state, Catawba is capable of bringing the necessary public and private stakeholders to the table to successfully catalyze efforts throughout the diverse district.


Charlene McGriff, Chair – Lancaster County

Joe Branham, Vice Chair – Chester County

Nettie Archie – Chester County

Alston DeVinney – Lancaster County

Jim Fuller – Chester County

Stacey Moore – York County

Russell F Patrick – Lancaster County

Chad Williams – York County

Robert Winkler – York County

Leroy Worthy – Union County